Fife Flyers win Scottish Autumn Cup

Claire Baker lodged Motion S4M-04000 on 5th September:

That the Parliament congratulates Fife Flyers ice hockey team on winning the inaugural Scottish Autumn Cup, defeating Braehead Clan 7-3 in the final; notes that this was the culmination of a weekend-long tournament that took place at Fife ice rink; understands that Fife beat Edinburgh Capitals 2-1 in the semi-final, with Braehead beating Dundee Stars 4-2; notes that Fife Flyers is the oldest ice hockey team in the UK; understands that the team was founded in 1938 after the growth in popularity of ice hockey in the UK as a result of the country winning gold at the 1936 Winter Olympics, and offers support to all four Scottish teams for the season ahead in the Elite Ice Hockey League as they take on teams from England, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Supported by: Patricia Ferguson, Kenneth Gibson, Anne McTaggart, Annabelle Ewing, Helen Eadie, David Stewart, Sandra White, Jamie Hepburn, Roderick Campbell, Mike MacKenzie, John Park, Dennis Robertson, Jackie Baillie, Richard Simpson, Maureen Watt, David Torrance, Kevin Stewart, Richard Lyle, Jamie McGrigor, Jim Eadie, Bill Kidd

Comments are closed.